Monday, August 29, 2011

A Year In The Life of an Art Journal

I'm back in the game!! Here I thought I wasn't going to find my art journal in time to be able to do this prompt but it's amazing what rummaging like a maniac through some boxes can accomplish!! My life is referred to in boxes right now. Like "where are the towels?" and I say "they are in the tall box in the kitchen", or "where are my pants?" and I would say "in the big box in the hallway" or "where is the phone charger?" and I say "no fuckin clue". And since we will be building and only renting here for around 6-7 months I will be living out of these boxes until then. Yeah.


















Anyways, here is the prompt for the August 30th A Year in The Life of an Art Journal:
brought to you by Nikki:

THE PROMPT: Dive In
THE SONG: Edge of Glory by Lady GaGa
PRODUCT/TECHNIQUE: shape layering

and here is my take on it:


















Loved this prompt as always because they just seem to come at a time when they really resonate with me.

Got my Fall 2011 issue of the Canadian Scrapbooker


















and I'm on page 126


















Lots of great layout ideas in this issue and some really gorgeous work!!

I'm hooked on houzz.com, it's totally addicting! Since we are going to be building a house again I find it's the perfect site for finding ideas on everything!! You can make your own ideabooks and I have mine labelled "kitchen", "bathroom", "landscaping/outdoor", "livingroom", etc... The pictures are gorgeous and the ideas are endless!!!! I have the app on my iphone which is how I found out about the website.

Here is a journal page about the rental we are living in while we build. Yeah.


















I don't know about you but if you have ever, and I mean ever, smelled cat spray or cat piss, you know it's one of the worst smells known to mankind. You cannot escape that shit. We aren't sure where the smell is coming from because when the air conditioner kicks in the smell of cat piss permeates every room in the house. I told the landlord and he was good enough to buy us a spray bottle of this stuff that is supposed to neutralize and kill cat piss, but the problem is you have to know where it is and then spray it and let it sit for 10 mins. Where the fuck is it??????? Where??????????? I keep saying my mantra of "6 months...we can do it".

One thing we are loving about this house though is the backyard. It has a deck and fenced yard which the dogs love and we have been sitting on the deck and drinking copious amounts of beer this past month. Love deck time.


Things I'm loving right now:

- True Blood
- My Sony Reader
- Beers on the deck
- Finally being done moving
- Sid Dickens Memory Blocks
- Not driving over the bridge anymore
- My iphone4

Right now I'm also reading "Pride" on my Sony Reader, it's the 3rd book in this series:

Thursday, August 25, 2011

I love you Sid Dickens!!!

Yes, it's official. I'm obsessed. When I went to pick out my 3 memory blocks for my 20 years of service award I remember being really torn about leaving one behind. I thought about it all weekend!! So yesterday when I had to go to the lawyer's office for the final papers of the sale of our house I ran across the street to the gallery and bought this:


















Isn't it gorgeous??? It's called "Amour" and will go beautifully with the other 3! I was so happy it was still there waiting for me. It must have wanted to come home with me!! haha

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

We are finally moved!!!!!!!!!!!!

Crikey!! Talk about the never ending move!! I seriously felt like we were stuck in some nightmarish vortex of moving hell!! We had the movers come on Friday, Aug 12th to move all the appliances and big items, then we spent the Saturday and Sunday moving trailer loads of the rest of our boxes and stuff. THEN...(I know, it seems to never end) we worked all week and the next weekend had to spend 2 days moving stuff out of John's 2 garages (don't even get me started on that) and clean the yard. Possession for the new people was yesterday. Hallefuckinluja!!!!!!!!!! Now I am just slowly unpacking necessities at the rental and I don't care if I live out of boxes for the next 6-7 months because what's the point when I know we will be into the new house then?

I miss making art. My art room is mostly still in boxes in the garage. Sigh. Hoping to slowly bring things in this week.

We celebrated our 23rd anniversary on Saturday and had beers on the deck and ordered chinese food. Bliss.


















Right now I'm reading "One Second After" on my Sony Reader










and it's soooo good! Here is the description as per Amazon.ca

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.


I find this kind of scenario absolutely horrifying and so scary!!

I am going to be celebrating my 20 years long time service this year for the place where I work and we were able to go to this gallery and pick out whatever we wanted up to a certain amount. I walked into the gallery and fell in love with these. Sid Dickens memory blocks!!! Where the hell have I been, under a rock or something?? I had never heard of them and was instantly smitten!! They are very collectible and it takes 5 artists to handcraft each block. After a certain amount of time he retires some of the blocks and then smashes the molds, making them even more collectible.

I picked out these 3 blocks as my gift and cannot wait to hang them in our new house:
This one is called Camelia


















and this one is called The kiss


















and this one is called Bird in flight


















Aren't they just gorgeous?? As luck would have it all 3 of these are retired! How lucky am I???? Have you heard of Sid Dickens before?? He's a Vancouver artist which makes him even better, he's Canadian!! I told John that now he has something he can get me for each birthday and Christmas!! I said for Christmas I wanted him to get me one but the catch is that he has to pick out one not that he thinks I will like but one that he himself likes. That way when I look at the wall of memory blocks there will be a piece of him on there.

I'll leave you with this joke I found hilarious!

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails